Home > Uncategorized > Weekly Meme: Own or Borrow? (Booking Through Thursday)

Weekly Meme: Own or Borrow? (Booking Through Thursday)

The weekly Booking Through Thursday question of the week (via the Booking Through Thursday blog) is:

All things being equal (money, space, etc), would you rather own copies of the books you read? Or borrow them?

Well, looking right now at my unending Kindle archive listing of books, it looks like I’m the ‘buying my own copies of books’ sort. It’s quite a shock really to scroll through all of them – I honestly had no idea I have so much in my library! I think it’s a mixture of the easy one-click button (on Amazon) or the massive sales they have regularly. 🙂 (Or the frebies, of which there are definitely a LOT of too)

I borrow a lot of books also (from family, friends, the library), so you’d think that would stop me from buying! But no, if I read something I really like, I’ll go off and get a copy for myself too (And if it’s the first in a series, I’ll be grabbing the rest too!)… Any book lovers aka hoarders’ anonymous meetings out there I should know about? lol

What about you, do you own or borrow your books?

(p.s. If you like participating in memes/blog hops, be sure to check out the Meme Directory for the Book Bloggers!)

(p.s.s. If it’s your first time to visit my blog, please have a look around especially if you read digital books. I post a lot of (legal) freebies that I find here)

If you enjoyed this post, get free updates by RSS Or by Email. [tweetmeme source=”randomizemeWP” only_single=false https://randomizeme.wordpress.com%5D

  1. mervih
    June 10, 2011 at 5:04 am

    I agree that digital books make hoarding a lot easier when you don’t have to think about the shelf space. I buy a lot of audio and ebook, too.

    • June 10, 2011 at 10:00 am

      Totally, right? Right now, it’s all just bytes of info residing in my Kindle or in the Amazon cloud!

  2. June 10, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I’m pretty thankful I don’t have an eReader. If I do, my money will probably disappear into buying all the books that looks good.

    • June 10, 2011 at 1:03 pm

      On the other hand though, Amazon has hundreds of free ebooks, not just the old classics but new books that the publishers price free for a temporary time as promo 🙂

  3. FBT
    June 10, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    I’ve been trying to justify buying a Kindle for months now, but simply cannot. I know I’ll just en end up buying two copies of the books. However, considering that I want to get back to reading War and Peace a Kindle would make that smoother.

    Also, it’s not ‘hoarding’ – it’s ‘library making’!

    • June 13, 2011 at 7:53 pm

      Point taken – I’m just collecting for a library!

  4. June 10, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    I don’t borrow much at all really because I tend to forget the due dates and have the books forever. Which means me spending about the same amount as if buy them to library.

  5. June 10, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I would definitely say owning my own books. Before I got my Nook, I just kept stacking up the books until the amount got out of hand. Now with the Nook, I do the same thing you do with the Kindle. I can’t believe how many books I have on my Nook. I think it’s the freebies that get you. If you don’t buy them when they’re free, they might not always be free. Alot of them are also novellas, but still….I have alot of books on it.

  6. June 11, 2011 at 4:21 am

    I do the same thing – buy a lot, but end up buying stuff if I enjoyed it when I did happen to borrow it, lol. Fun stuff! Reminds me that I need to go look at the Amazon offerings 😉

  7. Meg
    June 13, 2011 at 8:44 am

    My Kindle has saved a lot of room on my shelves 🙂

Comment pages
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.