Home > Uncategorized > Weekly Meme: WWW Wednesdays (Jan 26)

Weekly Meme: WWW Wednesdays (Jan 26)

January 26, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Thought I’d play along with this weekly meme WWW Wednesdays (via the Should Be Reading blog) where I answer three (3) questions:



What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading Paul of Dune by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson.

I received a copy as a gift last Christmas (I’m a known SciFi and Dune fan), and I finally managed to squeeze it in my TBR pile. I loved Frank Herbert’s magnum opus Dune and Dune Messiah, but the events in those two books were separated by a decade. Paul of Dune is supposed to bridge that time gap and give fans more info about the bloody Jihad that swept the galaxy.



What did you recently finish reading?

I actually re-read my copies of Frank Herbert’s Dune and Dune Messiah over the holidays.

It’s been a long time since I’ve read them, so I wanted to be sure about the characters and events, before I went ahead and read Paul of Dune. Usually, I’m disappointed when I re-read a book I raved over when I was a kid, but Frank Herbert’s writing and imagination is as exceptional now as it was the first time I read him. Total genius!



What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m planning to read The City of Ember (The First Book of Ember) by Jeanne DuPrau. I’d read a marvelous review of this YA dystopic future story about two teens on a race to save their dying underground city via Anastacia’s Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog, so I’ve added that to my TBR pile!

If you enjoyed this post, get free updates by RSS Or by Email. [tweetmeme source=”randomizemeWP” only_single=false https://randomizeme.wordpress.com%5D

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. January 26, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    It has been too many years since I read anything by Frank Herbert and have seen others who liked The City Of Ember so maybe need to put it on my own wishing to read list, Happy reading whatever you pick! My WWW/WoW post this week if you have time to check it out…

    • January 26, 2011 at 9:31 pm

      I did actually, was pretty overwhelmed by that huge collection of books you’ve read in January! 🙂

  2. January 26, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    I have to admit that I still haven’t read Dune series, although i love sci-fi 🙂 I’ve wanted to read The City of Ember for a few years, but still haven’t gotten around to it 🙂 Happy reading!

    p.s. I totally agree with you about I Am Number Four 🙂

    • January 26, 2011 at 10:32 pm

      I highly recommend the first Dune book, it’s still the best out of the whole series. NONE of the movie/tv adaptations could do it justice!

  3. January 26, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    City of Ember was an amazing book-don’t forget to read the other two in the series! thanks for visiting my blog!

  4. January 26, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    I didn’t know that Kevin J Anderson has another book beside the X Files. I enjoy his way of novelizing my favorite series of all time.

    Is it the same ‘The city of ember’ as the one in the movie?

    • January 26, 2011 at 10:34 pm

      Kevin J Anderson has collaborated with Brian Herbert on all the Dune-related books that were published after Frank Herbert’s death. I think he also wrote one of the Star Wars prequel novelizations?

      Yup, the City of Ember was made into a movie – I haven’t seen it yet though.

      • January 26, 2011 at 11:00 pm

        I didn’t know that either, I only read novelization book on The X Files, don’t have intention to read other than that.

        This dune series sounds interesting.

        I haven’t seen the movie too…wanted to but missed..didn’t know it was based on book.

  5. January 26, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I love to re-read my favourites, isn’t it nice when they still live up to your expectation!

    • January 26, 2011 at 11:02 pm

      And I feel bad when they don’t … Good thing Frank Herber’s writing holds up with time!

  6. Tara
    January 26, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    The City of Ember sounds interesting, I might have to put that on my ever-growing reminder list 🙂

  7. January 26, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    I’ve been meaning to read “City of Ember”… thanks for the reminder!

  8. January 27, 2011 at 12:57 am

    My husband wants me to read some of the Dune series … I will eventually have to do that. I saw the City of Ember movie and it was pretty good so I imagine the book will be much better, I will have to keep it in mind for the future.

    • January 27, 2011 at 1:46 am

      At least read the first Dune book, it’s an epic SciFi messiah story.

  9. January 27, 2011 at 9:12 am

    OMG i really wanna read City of Ember! I loved the movie, so now I’m intrigued to read the book 🙂 and btw thanx for dropping by my blog! 😀 and in response to ur question, I move around a lot cause we’re expatriates and move around a lot. oh, Prom Night: All the Way is amazing! it’s so funny, i swear if ur niece is a teen, she’ll love it! 🙂

    • January 27, 2011 at 9:39 am

      Thanks for letting me know! My niece is pre-teen, so maybe I’ll grab the book while it’s on sale 🙂

  10. January 28, 2011 at 1:16 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella will be the first book I’ve read by her. I hope I like it too. I have recently been hearing a lot of people reading a lot of dystopian fiction. I’ve read the Uglies and that was pretty good. I think I might also check out The City of Ember. I’ll have to check out the review.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.